Hannibal Lecter Would Choke On A Piece Of My Mind

Perception and Propaganda

I have an issue with the current perception on an issue.

This is an issue which shouldn’t be an issue, but since it is, I (and everybody else in America) am stuck with it.

Racism.liberals

I’m going to be writing a lot about racism, because that’s an issue I care greatly about.  Just for starters, I’d like you all to know that I’m a six-foot, four-inch tall white guy who A.) can’t jump, and B.) can’t dance, and C.) likes opera.  Oh yeah.  I’m so white, I make George Soros look like a brotha’.

I’m also a conservative Republican.  Which, combined with the fact that I’m white, apparently makes me a racist.  I think my best friend Robbie might disagree (he’s black), but hey – if the Democrats say I’m a racist, then by god I must be – they ALWAYS tell the truth.  /sarcasm.  In the words of one Dave Barry:

“I’m a middle age white guy, which means I’m constantly reminded that my particular group is responsible for the oppression of every known minority PLUS most wars PLUS government corruption PLUS pollution of the environment, not to mention that it was middle-age white guys who killed Bambi’s mom.”

It really is amazing, given that track record, that conservatives have ever won an election.  Of course…since it was also white guys who set the slaves free, ended most wars, knocked off government corruption (even if it was only temporarily…), and are now addressing the problem of pollution, you might also understand why we DID win some elections there.  And by the way, Bambi’s mom tasted great when grilled.  How do I know?  Robbie killed her and shared the meat with me – thanks dude!

Here’s what I really don’t get.  I define racism as one person discriminating against another person based on an irrational dislike of their skin tone or culture.  Now I will be the first to say that not all cultures are created equal – Asians are flat-out harder working people than me, when it comes to academics.  Hispanics are tough, strong people – those guys worked me to near death when I built houses with them.  The French are generally better artists than Americans (in my opinion); and the British are better public speakers.  The Swiss are excellent bankers – even when the IRS is trying to break all KINDS of ethics rules.  All of these things are at least partially culture-driven.  So what’s racist about noting that some people are different than the others?  None, unless you have an irrational dislike of the Swiss because of their banking ability…

What about skin tone?  I’ll answer with another question: Who cares?  Who really cares about what color a person is?  As a conservative, all that I ask is that we have a color-blind system that treats every person equally.  We do not have such a system yet – but we conservatives are the only people proposing workable solutions to the actual problems.  I’ll get into the substance of that in future posts, I’m sure; but if you look at policy proposals, you have liberals throwing money at minority populations for short-term electoral effect, and conservatives trying to fix the problems with inner-city schools.  Go figure.  On a more personal note…my best friend is black.  My first girlfriend was Korean, and I loved her honestly and fully, to the day she broke up with me.  My construction friends were white, black, and Hispanic – all equal, almost all hardworking men, and people I respected greatly.  Some were better men than others, but that had nothing to do with their skin-tone – the best man I ever met on a jobsite was a Hispanic guy named Edgardo.

Racism, though, is a concept which has been mis-defined.  If you ask an average college student to provide an example of racism, most will give you roughly the same answer: A white person discriminating against a black person.  But when black people discriminate against whites, it’s still racism.  When a Japanese nationalist discriminates against the Chinese, that’s racism.  When Jews discriminate against Palestinians, that’s racism; and when Palestinians discriminate against Jews, that’s racism.  It’s not limited to white people, to conservatives, to Republicans, or to Americans.  Racism is transnational, multiracial, and prevalant through the world.

So when American liberals (not all of them, there are a few that still have their brains) call me a racist…it burns a little.  But I give them that Joker smile, and know that they don’t have a clue what they’re talking about.  They’re just repeating a line that helps them win – and on that level, I understand why they call me a racist.  Because it doesn’t matter that I’m obviously not a racist.  It only matters that they keep their shrill carping going, because that’s how they win.

I usually like to end my soliloquies with a bit of irony.  I think the following quote would qualify quite well:

“If you tell a lie big enough and keep repeating it, people will eventually come to believe it. The lie can be maintained only for such time as the State can shield the people from the political, economic and/or military consequences of the lie. It thus becomes vitally important for the State to use all of its powers to repress dissent, for the truth is the mortal enemy of the lie, and thus by extension, the truth is the greatest enemy of the State.”

That, ladies and gents, was written by Joseph Goebbels, the Nazi propaganda minister.  Make what you will of that.

One response

  1. Archimedes

    Liberals stink =P Seriously, the last thing Liberals need is for the public to find out that their villains aren’t around any more. Do racists exist, sure. Is every person who opposes welfare etc. a racist? No. But what better way to avoid an actual debate than to declare your opponent beyond the pale? The Liberals over at the Daily Kommunist would say that you simply don’t realize your views are racist; that you’re ignorant of the true effects of your ideas on poor, oppressed minorities. It’s all garbage of course. Ending or seriously reforming social welfare programs is only racist if the programs themselves are race-based. The left’s lie is to assign motives based on possible consequences, saying that b/c someone wants to end a program tilted toward a particular minority group, that person must be a racist. As Conservatives know all too well, there is nothing racist about wanting to end/reform a program which doesn’t accomplish its stated goal. However, a debate on the actual efficacy of its initiatives is precisely what the left wants to avoid. So, we’re all racists.

    April 13, 2009 at 11:21 am

Leave a Reply

